What Marijuana Legalization Means in Oregon
Starting July 1, 2015, Measure 91 allows the personal use and possession of recreational marijuana under Oregon law. It also gives the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) authority to tax, license and regulate recreational marijuana. After July 1st…
The minimum age for consuming recreational marijuana in Oregon will be 21 years old.
You can smoke it or consume it privately.
If you have a medical marijuana card, you can still get marijuana at dispensaries and grow 6 plants and 18 seedlings or starts; and possess up to 24 ounces of usable marijuana. Medical marijuana is for patients with qualifying medical conditions.
Recreational marijuana is for personal use for adults 21 years of age or older. Recreational marijuana users can possess up to eight ounces of marijuana and four plants per residence in Oregon.
The law also allows possession of up to 1 pound of solid edibles like cookies, 72 ounces of marijuana-infused liquid like soda or lotion and 1 ounce of marijuana extract.
Marijuana cannot be smoked or consumed in public.
Homegrown plants and product must be kept out of public view.
You can’t sell it unless you are authorized by the State of Oregon.
You can’t take it across state lines, even to Washington, where it’s legal there too.
You can’t drive while impaired by marijuana (DUII– intoxicating substances).
People under 21 cannot use marijuana.
You can lose your job if your employer prohibits marijuana.
You cannot violate Federal Law. The Federal Government has taken a hands off approach for now for states that have legalized marijuana. This policy is revocable at any time, at the whims of the Federal Government.